Something went wrong with the connection!
 Breaking News

Run-machine Kohli rules ICC awards, claims top honors

Run-machine Kohli rules ICC awards, claims top honors
January 18
11:32 2018

DUBAI: Indian skipper and batting mainstay Virat Kohli on Thursday dominated the ICC annual awards clinching both the cricketer and captain of the year honors — a much-expected windfall of accolades for his phenomenal run across formats.

Kohli, who is currently leading India in an away Test series against South Africa, was named recipient of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year and also the ODI Cricketer of the Year. Besides he was picked the captain of both the ICC’s Test and ODI teams of the year.

Ironically, this comes at a time when his leadership has been called into question in the ongoing three-match series against South Africa, which India are trailing 0-2 after heavy losses.

However, in the qualification period from September 21, 2016 to the end of 2017, Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including eight centuries, 1,818 ODI runs including seven centuries at 82.63, and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153.

He also captained India to the top of the ICC Test rankings.

“It means a lot to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year,” Kohli was quoted as saying in an ICC statement.

“I won that back in 2012 also but it’s the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honor for me. It’s probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special,” he added.

This is the second time in succession that an Indian has won the overall cricketer of the year award. Off-spinner R Ashwin had claimed the honor last year.

Apart from Kohli, there were four other Indians who were picked in the ICC’s Test and ODI Teams of the Year. While the Test team featured Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah and Rohit Sharma found a place in the ODI side.

Kohli surprisingly pipped Australian skipper Steve Smith for the ICC’s Test team captaincy. Smith had led his team to a dominating 4-0 win over England in the Ashes.

Smith, however, claimed the Test Player of the Year award after scoring 1875 runs in 16 matches at an average of 78.12, with eight hundreds and five 50s.

“It’s a great honor to receive this award for the second time, having won it in 2015 as well. It’s called Test cricket for a reason, and I’ve enjoyed that test of my ability over the past 12 months,” Smith said.

Kohli became the first non-South African since 2013 to win the ODI Cricketer of the Year award since 2013. Quinton de Kock received the accolade for 2016 and AB de Villiers won it in 2014 and 2015.

In the nominations for ODIs this year, Kohli was placed alongside Pakistan paceman Hasan Ali, Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan and his own teammate Rohit Sharma.

Smith, meanwhile, beat off competition from last year’s winner Ashwin, who took 111 wickets at 25.87, Cheteshwar Pujara, who scored 1,914 runs, Kohli, and Ben Stokes, who hit 1,000 runs at 40.00 and took 35 wickets at 27.68.

Among other awards, Yuzvendra Chahal’s incredible haul of 6/25 against England in Bengaluru last year, was named as Twenty20 International performance of the year.

Chahal was named Player of the Match and Player of the Series for his performance — the best by an Indian bowler in T20I history, and the third-best of all time.

He is behind only Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis, who took 6/8 and 6/16 against Zimbabwe and Australia respectively.

Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan was adjudged ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year after taking 60 wickets in 2017 — a record for an associate player in a calendar year.

The ICC’s Test team of the year includes three Australians — Smith, opener David Warner and fast bowler Mitchell Starc, three South Africans — opener Dean Elgar, wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock and pacer Kagiso Rabada.

English pacer James Anderson and all-rounder Ben Stokes also found a place in the Test team.

Of these, Warner, de Kock and Stokes made the ODI squad as well. The others in the 50-over team included South African former skipper AB de Villiers, Afghanistan’s teenage leg- spinner Rashid Khan and two Pakistani cricketers in Hasan Ali and Babar Azam.

The ICC selection would come as a morale-booster for Stokes, who had been embroiled in a disciplinary mess after being caught up in a brawl outside a bar last year.

The incident had cost him a place in England’s Ashes squad and he has also been charged with affray recently by the Crown Prosecution Service.

ICC Annual Awards Winners:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year – Steve Smith

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Hasan Ali

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year – Rashid Khan

ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year – Yuzvendra Chahal

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year Marais Erasmus

ICC Spirit of Cricket – Anya Shrubsole (England)

ICC Fans Moment of the Year – Pakistan stun India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2017: Virat Kohli (captain) (India), Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner (Australia), Steve Smith (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Ben Stokes (England), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) (South Africa), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England).

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2017: Virat Kohli (captain) (India), David Warner (Australia), Rohit Sharma (India), Babar Azam (Pakistan), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) (South Africa), Ben Stokes (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India).-PTI



Related Articles

E-paper Edition: January 19, 2019


Star Tours


Land Sea Homes


Please disable your ad blocker to view this site at it’s best, we do not display spam advertisements (Popups & full Page Ads) or any explicit material.
Advertisements serve as a minor source of income for maintaining the website.

Submit Feedback – Website Department 



It’s a lovely book. It feels energetically clear and light. It’s easy to read, dip in and out and most importantly it offers information without fluff! Blessings on this project.

Jac O’Keeffe
Spirituality teacher based in USA.

*Available on Amazon, Flipkart & other online stores*

Follow us On Twitter

RT @IndiaToday: Here is everything you must know about the much-revered seer #ShivakumaraSwamiji who passed away at the age of 111 https:/…
h J R
Salman Khan is returning as Inspector Chulbul Pandey in the third installment of the ‘Dabangg’ franchise !…
h J R
Film choices are a reflection of her as a person. Read why Actress Tabu feels this. #tabu…
h J R
Since I started my career with his project…to be working with him again, it has sort of come a full circle.” -…
h J R


Is 10% quota for economically backwards a gimmick?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Subscribe To Our Mailing List

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Subscribe to IndiaPost by Email



Download Media Kit