India Post News Paper


 Breaking News

20 global Indians receive ‘Light of India Awards’

June 08
02:17 2012

NEW YORK: More than 300 of New York’s crème de la crème from the business, finance, and entertainment communities converged at the 2nd annual The Light of India Awards, an initiative created by Remit2India and presented by The Amrapali Group. The awards ceremony, held on Friday, June 1 at the Taj Pierre Hotel, is a platform to honor the excellence and exemplary achievements of Indians living abroad.
An extravagant blue carpet welcomed the likes of celebrities such as Arun Sarin, Narendra Patni, Professor Jagdish Bhagwati, Dr. Shashi Tharoor, Amitav Ghosh, Padma Lakshmi, Lisa Ray, Sendhil Ramamurthy, Pooja Batra, Sabeer Bhatia, and Siddhartha Mukherjee, just to name a few. Winners were announced by esteemed jury members in the categories of Business, Corporate Leadership, Education, Science & Technology, Arts & Entertainment, and Literature.
“Remit2India The Light of India Awards is an initiative to acknowledge the contributions of the global Indian community in making India the emerging superpower,” says Avijit Nanda, President of TimesofMoney Group. “These leading lights have lit the global skyline with their beams of brilliance.”
“It is great to see so many leading luminaries excel and build the profile of India globally,” says Dr. Anil Kumar Sharma, Chairman of The Amrapali Group, the title sponsor for the event. “The Amrapali Group is glad to be associated with these leading lights and hopes to work together in further enhancing the global image of India and its people.”
And the winners are…
Excellence in Business Leadership
• Bharat Desai Founder of Syntel – Jury Award
• Gurbaksh Chahal Internet entrepreneur and a best-selling author – People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Technology
• Pradeep K. Khosla Dean of the College of Engineering Carnegie Mellon University – Jury Award
• Sabeer Bhatia Co-Founder of Hotmail Service – People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Medical Sciences
• Siddhartha Mukherjee Assistant Professor of Medicine Columbia University – Jury Award
Excellence in Corporate Leadership
• Anshuman Jain Co-CEO of Deutsche Bank – Jury Award
• Padmasree Warrior Chief Technology Officer of Cisco Systems – People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Education & Academics – Deans & Presidents
• Renu Khator President of the University of Houston – Jury Award & People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Education & Academics- Scholars & Professors
• Soumitra Dutta Roland Berger Chaired Professor of Business and Technology Insead – Jury Award

• Mohanbir Sawhney Director of the Center for Research in Technology & Innovation at Kellogg School of Management – People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Literature & Journalism
• Amitav Ghosh Author – Jury Award
• Indu Sundaresan Author – People’s Choice Award
Excellence in Arts & Entertainment
• Padma Lakshmi Host of ‘Top Chef’ America- Jury Award
• Lisa Ray Actor & Host of ‘Top Chef’ Canada – People’s Choice Award
Lifetime Achievement Awards
• Jagdish Bhagwati Columbia University Professor & Economist – Lifetime Achievement Award For Study In Global Economics
• Narendra Patni Founder & CEO of Patni Computer Systems – Lifetime Achievement For Business Leadership
• Arun Sarin Former CEO of Vodafone Group – Lifetime Achievement Award For Global Corporate Leadership
Three Special Awards:
• Gurbaksh Chahal Chairman & CEO of RadiumOne – Amrapali Young Achievers Award
• Satish K. Tripathi University of Buffalo President – Power Of Influence Award In Education
• Ajay V. Bhatt Co-inventor of USB Technology – Power Of Influence Award In Technology

India Post News Service



About Author

India Post Newspaper

India Post Newspaper

Related Articles

E-paper Latest Edition

Casino Bonus



It’s a lovely book. It feels energetically clear and light. It’s easy to read, dip in and out and most importantly it offers information without fluff! Blessings on this project.

Jac O’Keeffe
Spirituality teacher based in USA.

*Available on Amazon, Flipkart & other online stores*


Jobsora Jobs


Download Media Kit

India Post Media Kit