Something went wrong with the connection!
 Breaking News

Marvelous India Day celebration at Naperville

August 17
22:17 2016
A section of the audience

A section of the audience

CHICAGO: Kudos and three cheers to energetic team of Naperville Indian Community Outreach that organized easily among the best India Day Parades and Melas on Sunday August 14 in Naperville town.
Attendance at the Parade and the subsequent Mela-Music concert was unprecedented for this type of function or celebration. People from all walks of life and not only from Chicago and suburbs but from nearby Midwest States too found time to come to attend this spectacular celebration. Those who could not make it probably would feel that they missed something.

Estimates of attendance varied with the Outreach sources claiming over 20,000 compared to about 10,000 last year. Conservatively, many placed it at 12,000 plus. Still it was a record and more importantly all of those attending did not find a single dull moment – whether it was watching 45 colorful floats depicting rich Indian culture of multiracial, multi religious multi linguistic Indian society ‘Anek Mein Ekta’ ( Unity within diversity) or be it the Mela that had 50 plus vendors with 10 vending tasteful Indian cuisine (Dosa, Chat, Pani Puri, Bhelpuri,

Pav Bhaji and you name it) while others showing their products and services with curious and inquisitive visitors flocking to most of them . Or be it Sunidhi Chauhan music concert in the evening.

Sunidhi with other local artists, including Mishu, stole the heart and mind of the audience. There was huge repeated applause after every song that she sang. The start with the extraordinary rendering of Dama Dam Mast Qalander set the tone for this near three-hour concert. Emcees too gave a wonderful account of themselves and were hugely entertaining.

Yet another plus point was a sizeable attendance of dignitaries – Naperville Mayor, Aurora Mayor, Oakbrook Mayor, City Council members and Indian Consul General Dr Ausaf Sayeed with his artist wife Ms Farha.

Kudos again to the Outreach team and volunteers Krishna Bansal, Chirag Jani, Dharmisth Patel, Dinkar Karumuri , Gautam Grover, Keyur Shah, Madhur Limdi , Narayan Tata, Rahul Saigal, Saily Joshi, Shammi Mittal, Vasavi Chakka, Vinod Vashisth, Viral Shah, Ashfaq Syed and Nimesh Jani.

Ramesh Soparawala & Dave Vasudevan



Related Articles

E-paper Latest Edition

Subscribe to our Digital Edition



Inkasa Interiors | Interior Designer in Delhi


Tracy Hills

ADVERTISEMENT – Ponderosa Homes

Ponderosa Homes



It’s a lovely book. It feels energetically clear and light. It’s easy to read, dip in and out and most importantly it offers information without fluff! Blessings on this project.

Jac O’Keeffe
Spirituality teacher based in USA.

*Available on Amazon, Flipkart & other online stores*


Star Tours

ADVERTISEMENT – Global Holidays

Global Holidays Early Bird Discounts


Follow us On Twitter

Exclusive Opportunity for budding writers to establish themselves as authors! is accepting…
h J R
RT @ndtv: #BreakingNews | Supreme Court orders release of journalist Prashant Kanojia, who was arrested for allegedly defaming UP Chief Min…
h J R


Subscribe To Our Mailing List

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Subscribe to IndiaPost by Email

Download Media Kit